International Association
of School Librarianship

Diljit Singh Leadership Development Grant

The International Association of School Librarianship (IASL) is pleased to announce the addition of the Diljit Singh Leadership Development Grant, which has similar requirements to those of the Jean Lowrie and Ken Haycock Leadership Development Grants. 

The newly developed award was named in 2017 in honor of Dr. Diljit Singh, past president of the International Association of School Librarianship, and initial funding is provided through the generosity of Dr. Singh.  Leaders in developing nations are invited to apply for reimbursement of US $1,000 to attend their first IASL annual conference. IASL Leadership Development Grants assist leaders in:

  • sharing their needs and aspirations;
  • learning from other conference participants;
  • developing contacts to further their work; and
  • identifying and developing strategies that can be used in their home country.

Leaders within Zone C are encouraged to apply. (See the membership information page for the countries allocated to Zone C). 

Deadline to apply: 1 April 2024

Please see for other IASL Award opportunities.

Leadership Development Grant applications must include a statement of:

  • need and purpose;
  • potential outcomes for their country; and
  • two letters of support from senior administrators, including assurance that the applicant's involvement in school library program development will continue

  • Applications should be sent to:
  • Chairperson of the Awards Committee
    International Association of School Librarianship
    P.O. Box 684
    Jefferson City, MO  65102
    Fax: 1-573-635-2858

Please note:

The award of US $1000 is presented at the annual IASL Conference. Recipients must be able to attend the conference to receive the award and funds. The recipient must be able to cover any additional expenses over and above the US $1000.

Leadership development grant recipients are required to provide a report on their conference experience to the IASL Secretariat within six months of conference closing, in response to the potential outcomes identified in their application.

  • All documentation must be received by February 1 each year to be considered for this leadership development grant.
  • Preference will be given to members of the International Association of School Librarianship.
  • Applications will be reviewed by an international panel of researchers and scholars.
  • Applications may be submitted in print or electronic format. 

Application Form

The application form below may be printed or copied, completed on paper, and sent to the Chairperson of the Awards Committee of IASL with supporting documentation:

==================== copy here =====================

Diljit Singh Leadership Grant Application Form

Name: ________________________________________________________________

Position: ______________________________________________________________

School/Institution: ______________________________________________________

Postal Address: _________________________________________________________


Country: _______________________________________________________________

Email Address: __________________________________________________________

Phone: ________________________________________________________________

Fax: __________________________________________________________

Please answer the following. Use additional space as necessary:

1) Why do you wish to attend the IASL conference?




2) What do you aim to achieve as a result of attending the conference?




3)Who, in your school or education administration authority, supports your application?



4) Are you a member of IASL? [  ] Yes  [  ] No

Please attach two letters of support from the persons listed in question 3 guaranteeing your continued involvement in the development of the school library program.

Past Winners

  • 2023 No grant awarded
  • 2022  L. H. W. R. Silva, Sri Lanka
  • 2020 Grace Uchechi Onyebuchi, Nigeria
  • 2019 Geraldine Nanjala, Ndege Primary School, Kenya
  • 2017 Zakir Hossain, European International School, Ho Chi Minh City

View our privacy policy here.

© International Association of School Librarianship
Data Protection Policy 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software